The Top 10 Funniest Archaeology Jokes in Honor of International Archaeology Day!

10.

I loved the concept of a “tablet” from the ancient world being mixed with a modern one :)

9.

So true, there’s so much we don’t know from the past, and can only imagine the reasons behind some of what they did!

 

8.

I love to think of how archaeologists will view us from the future! In 1000 years from now, how will the next culture perceive ours?

7.

While I admire many scholar’s meticulous and analytical work of what they study, sometimes I think they can come off as taking some things a little too seriously and over thinking it!

6.Department of Archaeology Floor Plan by Whitworth, James:

I love how this cartoon plays off the Law of Superposition , that the older the layers, the older the finds must be! Funny pun on that concept and floor plans!

5.

I sometimes get the naughty urge to think that someone from the past did it just to throw us off! I think it’s highly unlikely, as archaeology as we know it today didn’t exist back then, but it’s fun to imagine…

4.

The anachronistic prediction of researchers studying them and them preparing for that is pretty hilarious in my mind!

3.

I love how they tied in a bit of satire over our modern world and how fast things become outdated in this digital age!

2.

This one was a close second, I think it explains itself as to why it’s so funny!

1.

From the moment I saw this one, I knew it was the number one! The satire of all of the junk in women’s purses, and also tying in the concept of mapping out the stratification of an archaeological dig site is just too funny! I hope some offended women out there make sure not to take that joke “out of context”!

(Tee, hee, I couldn’t help cracking a joke of my own! Get it? Like Archaeological Context!, a closely related concept!…)

About persnicketythecat

I like ancient and medieval history!
This entry was posted in Archaeology and Anthropology, Helping Make History More Interesting, Holidays, Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Top 10 Funniest Archaeology Jokes in Honor of International Archaeology Day!

  1. carol says:

    Very funny collection!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Retrojackie says:

    Love the sense of humor!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think ? :)

