Art and History Part II: Sculpting The Insane

In addition to drawing illustrations of various scenes, I also was inspired to make figurines of some of the mental patients!

This one is a madwoman being restrained by an attendant. I gave her an angry expression to show she didn’t like being restrained. I named this piece “The Dance of Insanity” since they looked like they were dancing!

This is another mental patient I made. She is lifting up her dress and twirling about. I tried to make it so she looks like she’s moving a lot. Perhaps she’s overstimulated and needs a trip to the quiet room!

Lastly, this one is acting really crazy! I added the white sweater because in pictures I have seen, at one institution, all of the women wore the same white sweater over their dresses! I assume it was the institution uniform.

 

About persnicketythecat

I like ancient and medieval history!
This entry was posted in Art and History, Helping Make History More Interesting, Humor, Modern History. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Art and History Part II: Sculpting The Insane

  1. Retrojackie says:

    Interesting! Love the artistic interpretation!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think ? :)

